A Bunch of Junk About Kaz & Co.

Just another WordPress.com site

It Really ‘Bugs’ Me January 16, 2008

Filed under: Hobbies — Kazzer75 @ 12:35 pm
 
Just as we thought that we were getting the hang of keeping fish…it now seems that our tank has been infested with loads of disgusting little beetle, type crustations!!  I noticed them last night because they were all crawling around in the tank’s filter.  We took it out and got rid of all of those ones, but they were back in the same numbers when I went down to check on them again this morning.
 
The tails on Hoover & Dyson aren’t looking so good either.  They seem a bit frazzled and they just aren’t looking as good as they normally do.  The fish all seem to be swimming around as though they are pissed off and the little guys are all schooling together which they don’t normally do.
 
I can’t seem to find anything very useful on the internet about what all of this mess may be.  I think Mike may have been over feeding them when it’s his turn though and one possibility seems to be that they are copepods that may have increased in numbers due to the fish being over fed.
 
Guess I better get down to the fish store to see what the guys in there think.  I hope that there is something I can treat the tank with to get rid of these little critters.  They aren’t very attractive and they are freaking me out a bit and I don’t want anything hurting my babies…
 
If anyone reading this can offer any help or suggestions, that would be greatly appreciated.
 
Pray for my little fishies, they need all the help that they can get as I haven’t a clue how to take care fo them really, I am still a newbie to fish keeping. 
 
Thanks.
 
 

One Response to “It Really ‘Bugs’ Me”

  1. Graham Says:

    All I can remember from my limited fish keeping experience is that it\’s usually quite a bad idea to feed them more than the barest minimum in winter. Good luck.
    X
    Graham


Leave a comment